The Trust

St. Peter’s Saltley Trust is heir to the tradition and commitment of St Peter's College, Saltley, which was founded in 1850 and until 1978 trained school teachers at its former site on College Road, Saltley, Birmingham. The Trust came into being in 1980 subsequent to the closure of the college, with a brief to work across the West Midlands region in the three areas of lay Christian education, further education and RE in schools. From the income derived from the sale of the college buildings, St Peter's Saltley Trust has, since 1980, made monies available for the establishment of locally-based projects within its area of benefit.
St. Peter's Saltley Trust consists of 15 Trustees who are jointly responsible for the use of the Trust monies in accordance with the object of the Trust. The Trustees include the diocesan bishops of Birmingham, Coventry, Hereford, Lichfield and Worcester, a nominative Trustee from each of these dioceses, one Trustee from St. Peter’s College Old Students’ Association and four co-optative Trustees with experience of the Trust’s key areas of work.
The Trust also employs a director to support and develop work in the three areas of interest. Between 1980 and 2007 the Trust’s first director was Maggie Keane. The current director is Ian Jones.